
  

 

Delaware New Hire Reporting  
Mandatory Employer Reporting Requirements  

To report, just follow these three easy steps:  

Step 1:  Gather Information  
Before you submit your reports, be sure to have the following  

Information at hand:  

O Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN) 

O Employer Name  
O Employer Address  

O Date of Hire (date first service is provided for pay) 

O Employee Social Security number (SSN)  
O Employee Name  

O Employee Address  

  
Step 2:  Choose Reporting Method  

To report, you can use one of the following methods:    

   http://newhire.dhss.delaware.gov 

O Internet reporting (Tip: add our URL to your ―Favorites‖  

    for easy access)  

O Electronic file (see website for file specifications)  

O Federal W–4 by mail or fax 

O Printed list of new hire information by mail or fax  

Fax:  

Step 3:  Submit the Report  

The easiest way to submit your company’s new hire 
reports is online. You can also submit your new hire 
data by FTP, mail or fax. If you fax your reports, please 
do not use a cover sheet. Your payroll service can also 
report your new hires. Visit the Delaware State 
Directory of New Hires website or call for more 
information.  

Who  
can I speak to if I have questions? You will 

find answers to many of your questions on our website 
or you can reach us at:  

Mailing address:  

Delaware State Directory of New Hires 
P.O. Box 90370  
Atlanta, GA 30364  

Telephone:  

1-855-481-0018   

 1-855-481-0047 

Website:  

      http://newhire.dhss.delaware.gov 

Why  
must I report? Employers serve as key partners in 

ensuring inimical stability for many children and families. 

New hire reporting speeds up the child support income 

withholding order process, expedites collection of child 

support from parents who have changed jobs, and quickly 

locates parents to help in establishing paternity and child 

support orders. New hire reporting helps children receive 
the support they need.  

Who  
must report? Employers doing business in the 

State of Delaware must report all newly hired 

employees. A new employee is considered any 

individual who is eligible for federal income tax 

withholding from wages and provides a service to the 

employer. This includes part-time and temporary 
employees.  

do I report? Employers may choose the method 

they use to report new hires.  The easiest way to 

report new hires is through the Delaware State 

Directory of New Hires website. It only takes about 

five minutes to report your new hires— saving both 

time and paper. This method is also very secure. Your 

company information is password protected and your 
reports are transmitted through our secure server.  

How 

is new hire reporting? The Personal 

Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation 

Act (PRWORA) of 1996, 42 U.S.C. 653a and 

Delaware code, Title 13, Chapter 22, Section 2208, 

and Title 30, Chapter 11, Section 1156A require 

employers to report each newly hired employee 

within 20 days of hire. An employer who fails to 

report the hiring of a new employee may be fined $25 
for each report. 

 

What  

I have employees in more than one state?  
If you are an employer with employees in more than  
one state, you may choose to report your new hires 
electronically to one state. If you choose this option, you 
must provide written notification to the Secretary of the US 
Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) of 
your intention. You may contact the Federal Office of 
Child Support Enforcement (OCSE) to request a form at 

410-277-9470 or visit www.acf.dhhs.gov. 

What if 
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